A brighter, lighter and healthier world
Home » Education Photonics » Studying photonics @ VUB » SPIE Student Chapter

SPIE Student Chapter

Since the start in April 2006, we group both master and PhD students in photonics at Vrije Universiteit Brussels. As a members of an SPIE Student Chapter, you enjoy several benefits with broad access to resources, and networking opportunities at our academic, industrial or social events, that can make a difference in your career.

Our goal is to get together with students, sharing inspiring experiences within and outside our community in photonics.

Next to online courses, discounts for conferences, access to grants and online journals we also organize and support several scientific and social events:

Next activity: Light Night. Click the image below for the invitation:

On a yearly basis we present a new dynamic team that takes the lead in the coordination of all our activities. The SPIE Brussels Student Chapter board for the academic year 2016-2017 is formed by:

  • PresidentSidney Goossens
  • Vice-president : Qing Liu
  • Secretary : Agnieszka Gierej
  • Treasurer : Benjamin Feigel
  • Executive Committee : Fei Gao
  • Executive Committee : Lara Misseeuw
  • Executive Committee : Urszula Nawrot
  • Executive Committee : Robert Pawlus
  • Executive Committee : Thiago Raddo
  • Past-President : Jens De Pelsmaeker
  • Adviser : Hugo Thienpont 

Are you a student and would you like to join us? Feel free to contact us for any more information at spieofficers@b-phot.org

The SPIE Student Chapter of the VUB can also be visited on the SPIE website

Our former presidents are:

  • Jens de Pelsmaeker  (2015-2016)
  • Lien Smeesters (2014-2015)
  • Diane De Coster (2013-2014)
  • Stefaan Heyvaert (2012-2013)
  • Stijn Roelandt (2011-2012)
  • Tom Guldemont (2010-2011)
  • Els Moens (2009-2010)
  • Sara Van Overmeire (2008-2009)
  • Nathalie Vermeulen (2007-2008)
  • Jurgen Van Erps (2006)
B-PHOT cooperates with EYESTvzw for STEM-projects in Photonics

Click here for more information...


Hugo Thienpont
Prof. Dr. Ir.
Hugo Thienpont
Managing Director
Nadia Cornand

Nadia Cornand
+32 2 791 68 52

How to reach B-Phot?

VUB - Campus Etterbeek
Pleinlaan 2
1050 Elsene
Building F - 9th floor

More info