Kom jij ons Fotonica team versterken?

Come and join our Photonics team!

A brighter, lighter and healthier world
Home » Prof. Sandra Van Vlierberghe receives prestigious ESB Jean Leray Award 2017

Prof. Sandra Van Vlierberghe receives prestigious ESB Jean Leray Award 2017

October 5, 2017 at 17:30

The Jean Leray award of the European Society for Biomaterials (ESB) recognizes, encourages and stimulates outstanding research contributions to the field of biomaterials by young scientists.  The committee has nominated Sandra Van Vlierberghe as the awardee of the prestigious Jean Leray Award for 2017.

Prof. Sandra Van Vlierberghe, professor at both VUB B-PHOT and PBM Gent, has contributed to the knowledge in the field of biomaterials by elaborating innovative hydrogel crosslinking strategies that combine excellent biocompatibility with processing versatility. In addition to advancing biopolymers in the biomaterials field, she also introduced the solid state crosslinking capability of synthetic hydrogels, a finding which was patented jointly with industry.  

Sandra received the award given by the ESB Council in September and gave a lecture on her contribution during the YSF general assembly at the occasion of the Annual Biomaterials Meeting of the Society in Athens. 

Looking for photonics STEM activities? Visit our new site


Hugo Thienpont
Prof. Dr. Ir.
Hugo Thienpont
Managing Director
Nadia Cornand

Nadia Cornand
+32 2 791 68 52

How to reach B-Phot?

VUB - Campus Etterbeek
Pleinlaan 2
1050 Elsene
Building F - 9th floor

More info